“We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. …we need silence to be able to touch souls.” – Mother Teresa

There are times where one’s voice seems over rated.   Then when you don’t have it…  only then that you find all of the words.

The annual struggle with flu aggravated bronchitis has set in and has given me a world of grief.  I have taken some time off at work March 8 – 15 for vacation and wonder if I should offer to skip it since I have had several days off work sick.  Given in the last two years I have only taken off 6 days sick and four of them in the last two weeks.  I am sorry – no one should have a problem with that.  My thought right now is screw giving up the vacation time.

One realizes in the silences that have been imposed how much one has given up.  One realizes the gains and the setbacks.  One begins to reassess and take stock of life’s wonders.  I never really noticed nor did I really appreciate how much effort it takes to feel sorry for yourself.

A couple of silent voices from my past have surfaced and have wanted to explore where we are.  And the one that I have found that made me happy has been the cause for most of my re-evaluation.  I so wish that there was an easy fix to any of this.

I am not certain if anything should be done.  Is this part of the trials that have wandered in or part of the silent thought processes.  One wonders, if the trees aren’t silent because the birdsong is so much prettier.

